Messageboard Acronyms

11 09 2009

I am among the people that sometimes are not able to understand some messages in the Internet forums…..words as LOL, SWMBO,….etc. are not complicated but not well known for some users of the Internet…..

There are some of the most used acronyms:

ASAP – as soon as possible
ATM – at the moment
BTW – by the way
DH – Dear Husband
DW – Dear Wife, SWMBO
FYI – for your information
HTH – hope that helps
IAW – I agree with (var. IFAW – I ****ing agree with, IA – I agree)
IDAW – I don’t agree with
IDK – I don’t know
IMO – in my opinion
IMHO – in my humble opinion
IMNSHO – in my not so humble opinion
IRL – in real life
LMAO – laughing my ass off (var. LMFAO – laughing my ****ing ass off), is sometimes paired with ROFL (see below)
LOL – laugh out loud; sometimes spelled out as lawl or lawlz, because of how some people pronounce it (as ‘lawl’ instead of ‘el oh el’) XD, lol
OMG – oh my god (var. OMFG – oh my ****ing god; OMGAH – oh my gah); O.O O.o o.O
OMF – oh my ****
OT – off topic
NP – no problem
NVM – never mind
PLZ – please; usually only used in a phrase such as plzkthx.
PWN – own, pronounced “pown”; typo that became an internet phenomenon (var. owned, pwned, pwns, pwnz)
ROFL – rolling on (the) floor laughing; often paired with LMAO to create the long form, ROFLMAO (rollling on the floor laughing my ass off)
SWMBO – She Who Must Be Obeyed …DW
TBH – to be honest
THX – thanks; generally only used in sarcastic contexts and often seen as part of PLZKTHX
TY – thank you (var. TYVM – thank you very much)
WTF – what the ****
XD or xD – evil grinTY – thank you (var. TYVM – thank you very much)
YMMV – your mileage may vary

Acciones

Information

Responder

